Sick kiddos and the Tray of Good Things

trayWhen I was little, I’d get tonsillitis about once every three weeks.  Eventually we found a new doctor, who promptly ordered them removed, but until then I felt intermittently miserable.  Fortunately, I was blessed with a mother who could rival Florence Nightingale, and she taught me a thing or two when it comes to caring for sick little ones.

Flash forward thirty-*cough* years to the day, and I now have two sick little ones of my own.  Each one is sprawled on a couch piled with pillows and blankets and teddy bears.  They’re watching Scooby Doo, and soon we’ll switch to story-time, but before that I’ll pull a page from Mom’s Infirmary Playbook.

The “Tray of Good Things.”  (Affectionately named by my four-year-old).

You know how it is when you’re sick.  Fruit sounds perfect at first, then after two bites becomes the vilest food on the planet.  You want juice, no…wait…saltines.  Strike that, you hate saltines.  So it is with kiddos, and now I understand why my mom always brought an assortment of soothing foods to my bedside.

There’s really no trick, although I’ve found that putting a little effort into presentation makes them feel a lot special.  So break out the good cups-and-saucers.  Cloth napkins.  Whatever little touches you think would make your little one smile through his fever.

On today’s tray:

–  Sliced fruit
–  Hot chicken broth
–  Cheese-Its
–  Green Goodness (the Bolthouse juice that resembles swamp water)
–  Graham crackers
–  Fig Newtons
–  Bananas

Just a little of each, and each tray is different.  It only takes a minute to put together, but it’s something they look forward to when their day is otherwise filled with thermometers and headaches and “the yuck medicine.”

Image courtesy of stockimages at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Sick kiddos and the Tray of Good Things

  1. joeyfullystated April 23, 2013 at 4:07 pm Reply

    You’re a doll. That’s really sweet, I do broth and tea with cloth napkins, and always wonder where my hot cup and cloth napkin is when I’m sick..Now you’ll have me wishing for a tray of good things!

    • Julia Weston April 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm Reply

      I’ve wondered myself why a tray of good things never seems to materialize when I’m down with the flu, but I guess we’re paying it forward, right? lol!

  2. […] H&M earrings . And, the look Great on her . Julie  is the author behind Truth Never Changes, Being June, and Literary Bits .If you get a change please visit her sites  . She is an Amazing Writer […]

What say you?

