Waiting for spring

I step out the front door and into the sun – and I’m blasted by 30-degree winds.  Should have checked the weather.  So much for that walk in the woods.

I inspect my beloved lilac bush, always the first to burst, and it mocks me with its high-gloss buds wound up tight.  From beneath my porch,a newly-roused woodchuck sniffs the frigid air, and we call a silent truce; neither of us is ready for our summer-long battle to begin.  He retreats to his den.

The brown earth, despite its surface dampness, has no give.  The robins peck, in search of worm-sicles, and I hear them wonder why they bothered to return.

Everything waits for that day – you know the one – when the birds serenade, the sun warms and the breeze carries life-giving sweetness.  Windows swing open and jackets come off and, for that one perfect day, harmony reigns.

I used to say that, in Michigan, March is the longest month of the year.  I was wrong.  It’s April.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Waiting for spring

  1. Jill Weatherholt April 5, 2013 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Spring is certainly taking its own sweet time this year. The robins have arrived, but there is still a chill in the air.

    • Julia Weston April 5, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

      You’re not kidding. I’m curled up next to the fireplace right now!

      • Jill Weatherholt April 5, 2013 at 2:25 pm

        LOL! I’ve been curled up with my heating pad at night…just like my grandmother used to do. 🙂 I hear it’s going to be in the mid 70’s next week, so I’m keeping my fingers and toes crossed!

  2. Experienced Tutors April 5, 2013 at 4:39 pm Reply

    Still got some left over snow here in middle England. Coldest March since 1962. I’m confused!

    • Julia Weston April 5, 2013 at 4:57 pm Reply

      I’ve had enough. I can’t tell you how tired I am of lugging in firewood. It’s so quaint in December…

  3. Jonathan Caswell April 8, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

    I can’t lug firewood anymore….the apartment is all electric….I miss it (lugging firewood). “70’s” tomorrow, here in Central Massachusetts…maybe. Most all ski areas this far south have closed down for the season. I saw a few robins near the beginning of March that I think were wondering what was going on….in the middle of a snow storm! 🙂

    • Julia Weston April 8, 2013 at 2:16 pm Reply

      Oh, how I long for seventy-degree weather – or even sixty. I think it’s 45 right now. and raining. But I shall persevere! Spring will be here soon, God willing. Thank you for commenting and for your kind reblog 🙂

  4. Jonathan Caswell April 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SPRING—IT IS SOMEWHERE!

What say you?

