This is what happens when I give up Facebook (and a feedback request)

Literary bitsSince I stopped surfing Facebook each time I had a brain-lull (which evidently happens more often than I thought), I started thinking about this blogging thing.  I haven’t been blogging seriously for very long (mainly because the technical side scares me), but I now see why the blogosphere boasts millions of blogs; I’ve had so much fun with this thing, both in writing mine and reading others.

Because I had time to ponder on this, I discovered that I’ve struggled to find a focus for my little corner of cyberspace – at least finding a focus beyond the ramblings of a homemaker.  I started visiting blogging websites.  I had no idea there were so many, and the ones I found all advocate, 1) finding a niche, and 2) finding your passion and using it to help others.  

I immediately fell in love with the idea of using my passion to help others.  But a niche for Being June?  I sort of like being able to ramble and, while I love parenting and cooking and letting my mind wander, I’m not sure I could limit myself to only one of those things.  

Then it hit me.  I love words.  I love writing – both fiction and non.  I’m no J.K. Rowling, no Pulitzer-Prize winner, but I can string together a solid sentence, and I could help new writers take their craft to the next level.  I could create a space dedicated to helping new, aspiring writers hone their skills and find their own voices.  Not in a sterile writer’s forum kind of way; in a fun, small-bites kind of way.

So that’s what I did.  I created a new site.  It’s called Literary Bits.

That’s where (hopefully) you come in.  All of you who visit Being June have been so great and, since this is my first self-hosted site (gulp), I’d be grateful if you’d consider clicking over to have a look around.  The majority of you are already skilled writers so I’m hoping, even if Literary Bits isn’t for you, that you’ll check things out with a critical eye and drop me a line in the comments; I could really use your feedback.

And, if you click over…

And if you like what you see…

And if you happen to know any new or aspiring writers who might benefit…

Would you consider passing along the word (or give it a share via your preferred social media channel)?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.  I’m a little out of my element here, and I’d love to hear your thoughts.  

P.S.  I’m not abandoning Being June.  I love this blog and I truly appreciate all of you who take the time to visit.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “This is what happens when I give up Facebook (and a feedback request)

  1. ashleygrace113 March 25, 2013 at 9:15 am Reply

    Just took a quick peek at Literary Bits. Seems awesome. I will definitely have to take more time to check it out later! I will share it on my blog when I post something about my writing later. ❤

    • Julia Weston March 25, 2013 at 9:37 am Reply

      Thank you so much! It’s been quite a challenging project (I’m not exactly tech-savvy lol!) Thanks for visiting 🙂

      • ashleygrace113 March 25, 2013 at 10:39 am

        Well, from one lit-lover to another, if you need any help with it feel free to hit me up!
        ~Ashley

  2. Experienced Tutors March 25, 2013 at 9:37 am Reply

    The site is a great idea BUT I am glad that you will continue with your blog.

    • Julia Weston March 25, 2013 at 9:39 am Reply

      Thank you, friend. I hope you are doing well.

  3. mydailyminefield March 29, 2013 at 8:57 pm Reply

    Good start for your new project! So are you learning html, CSS and all that good stuff? I still don’t have the nerve to go self hosted, yet!

    • Julia Weston March 30, 2013 at 6:54 am Reply

      Thank you! I know a little html, but CSS confounds me. The whole process was easier than I thought it would be, mainly because of the massive amount of support info available from WordPress.org. You should go for it!

What say you?

