Sometimes, just when you think it’s all going wrong, it goes right.

image

C.A.T.

I’m dimly aware of living-room chatter above the skillet’s hiss-pop. My bones are heavy and the day is long (but the years are short) and I grumble.  I squeeze my eyes against the onion-sting as I silently beseech the pasta to cook itself.

They are drawing at the coffee table. The chatter clarifies.

“I’m making a comic book called Around the House,” says Alex. “See, there are pictures and words in every box.”

Brynn sighs. “I wish I could have words with my picture.”

I’ve been meaning to help her with that more often, with stringing letters together. Where does the time go? I stifle my guilt and return to the pan with renewed vigor; suddenly cooking dinner is the least I can do.

I hear Alex. “Like this. C. A. T. See? Now, what do those letters say?”

Brynn, unsure. “K- Kuh? at? Cat. Cat! Cat!

I drop my spatula.

“Yeah! What about this? What does this say?”

Brynn, stronger now, “Ah-ll-eh-ks.”

“Mom! She’s getting it!”

I peer around the corner. She’s standing tall, staring into space. “A.L.E.X. spells Alex!”

One word, but so much bigger. A gilded key. I see through her eyes; she’s pulling the door open to the brilliant room that waits to be unlocked, wide-eyed at the possibility of so many new dimensions.

I smile. “Brynn, you’re reading.”

Blessings are like that, aren’t they? They happen when you expect them least and need them most.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Sometimes, just when you think it’s all going wrong, it goes right.

  1. ashleylecompte March 1, 2013 at 3:23 pm Reply

    That is fabulous. Good job, mommy. 🙂

    • Being June March 2, 2013 at 10:10 am Reply

      Thank you so much 🙂 It’s a moment that made my heart soar!

  2. fakingpictureperfect March 1, 2013 at 4:14 pm Reply

    I love it when things just click and they are do proud!

    • Being June March 2, 2013 at 10:11 am Reply

      Me too. They’re little sponges. It’s so great to watch!

  3. carrieblueberry March 3, 2013 at 6:35 pm Reply

    i love the way you wrote about this special moment.

    • Being June March 3, 2013 at 6:49 pm Reply

      Thank you very much. I almost fell on the floor when I realized she was reading. Thanks for stopping by!

What say you?

