The moment you realize it’s best not to skip the concealer

concealerIt’s ten degrees in the market parking lot, but the sun warms my spirit and scatters diamond-sparks on the snow. My four-year-old daughter rides in the cart, bundled in pink and her breath comes in clouds of sweet vapor. I unlock the van and smile at the older couple at the car beside us as they unload their groceries.

My daughter regards me, all squinty-faced. “Mommy?”

“Yes, dear?”

“Can I ask you a question?”

“Yes, dear.”

“Are eyelids purple?”

I sigh. “Yes, dear.”

 

Image courtesy of imagerymajestic at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

What say you?

