The Hummus Conundrum

hummusHummus. This chickpea-based snack has been on healthiest snack lists for years. It’s lowfat (any fat it has is the good fat), it’s got protein, fiber, and it goes with just about anything, in my hummus, er, humble opinion.

But hummus is tricksy. It’s confounded me for years. Store-bought hummus either, A) tastes like plastic, or B) costs far too much for this frugal June (I mean, come on. They’re chick-peas).

No worries; I’d make my own. Problem solved.

Except that my well-meaning attempts at homemade hummus have resulted in either, A) a watery mess, B) something that resembles drywall paste (but on the upside is guaranteed to repel vampires).

Why am I going on about my hummus conundrum (say that five times fast)? Because, after much tweaking, I’ve finally landed on what I believe to be the best hummus recipe ever, which I shall share with you presently:

Best. Hummus. Recipe. Ever.

1-2 clove garlic (depending on preference)

1 15 oz. can garbanzo beans (aka chick-peas), liquid reserved

2 Tbs Tahini (this stuff is a little expensive but, at two tablespoons per batch, it’s not so bad)

2 Tbs sour cream

3 Tbs fresh lemon juice

1/4 tsp. sea salt

⅛ tsp. paprika

Extra virgin olive oil

1. Place peeled garlic clove in a food processor. Mince.

2. Add 3 Tbs. reserved liquid and remaining ingredients.

3. Process until smooth, drizzling in olive oil as needed.

Note: My kids love this recipe. It’s velvet-smooth, there’s nothing in it I can’t pronounce, and it costs about $1.00 per batch. Serve it with pita bread, crackers, carrots, celery – it even works as a sandwich spread. If you’d rather omit the olive oil (I won’t judge), simply keep drizzling in chick-pea liquid. It’s all good.

Enjoy 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Hummus Conundrum

  1. missgiven January 8, 2013 at 2:25 pm Reply

    I love it!

    • Being June January 8, 2013 at 3:08 pm Reply

      Thanks! The downside is that my family insists that we have it on-hand at all times. I guess that’s why they say, “if you don’t want to be in charge of something, don’t get good at it.” lol!

  2. yarnspinnerr January 8, 2013 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Chickpea or as we know it kabuli-chana is also the main ingredient of the complete meal chole eaten with kulcha (baked flat bread) and they are also very tasty as snack/meal or inbetween food.

    • Being June January 8, 2013 at 3:10 pm Reply

      I’m intrigued! We love to try new foods. If you have a recipe you’d like to share, I’d love to link up to it… Thanks for stopping by!

      • yarnspinnerr January 9, 2013 at 2:51 pm

        http://forumhub.com/southfood/160.00.05.51.html
        http://food.sulekha.com/kulcha.htm

        I am just an amateur cook 😦
        However, i hope the above two links provide u the recipes for chole and kulche. By the way I personally prefer the plain kulches.

        Happy cooking 🙂

      • Being June January 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm

        These look challenging (at least challenging for me lol!) – I bet my husband will volunteer to go on a hunt for ingredients (something he loves to do). Once I get a chance to try them, I’ll let you know how they turn out. Thanks for sharing!

      • yarnspinnerr January 17, 2013 at 8:49 am

        You can try a Indian store if there is one near by and packaged spice mix for chole are generally available with directions of how to use on the package itself. Everest and Ashok are good brands. 🙂

What say you?

