New Years Eve – past and present

New YearsSo I just subscribed to the WordPress Daily Prompt in an attempt to shake up my writing life a bit.  Today’s prompt asks where I spent my New Years Eve and was it where I wanted to be?  That got me thinking about New Years both past and present.

When I was a kid, I would have been curled up on my parent’s couch, Santa Bear and empty glass of egg nog by my side.  I would have dozed while Dick Clark hosted the daylights out of his Rockin’ Eve.  I would have completely missed the ball-drop and woken up at dawn, in awe at the idea of a brand-new year.

Ten years ago, I would have been frolicking at some ridiculously large and overpriced hall party, tickets purchased months in advance, clad in the obligatory little black dress, champagne in hand.  I would have spent the entire day preparing (I’m still sort of bemused at how much time I had to spend back then.  On hair.  Hair.)  When the ball dropped I would have kissed my husband and then danced in the falling confetti until my feet gave out.  And I loved every minute of it.

Last night, me and my munchkins settled in on the living room floor in a sea of blankets and pillows.  We watched Hugo (fantastic!) while my husband looked on from the kitchen as he prepared a steak dinner for the four of us.  After that, we poured little flutes of sparkling apple cider (My four-year-old asked, “Mommy?  Is this champagne for kids?”  Sort of made me rethink our new little tradition), toasted the old year and the new, and clinked our glasses.  We considered letting the wee ones stay up until midnight, but by around 10:00 p.m. they got that overextended let’s-break-as-many-rules-as-we-can-think-of look in their eyes, and we decided it would be best to tuck them in.  By 10:30 p.m. we were all sleeping.

It’s funny how different New Years Eve can look, depending on where you’re standing.

So, was I where I wanted to be this New Years Eve?  You bet I was.  I hope you were, too.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What say you?

