My bedroom re-do

Freed from a decade of burnt sienna oppression.

Okay, this may not seem like much, but consider that one month ago the walls of this north-facing room were a burnt sienna.  It felt like falling asleep inside a pumpkin.  For a decade.  The color was so heavy it sucked the hope out of me that the room could ever be redeemed.  Like the black hole of home décor.

Then I saw this bedspread (thank you, Pinterest).  It just made me happy.  Giddy, even.  So much so that I convinced myself I could build a room around it.  I actually painted the walls myself, which is a huge feat since the last time I tried it…let’s just say my back bathroom looks like it was mauled by a ripe banana.

I picked up the curtains and accent pillows on sale at Kmart, and shopped my house for everything else.  I’m so jazzed because I didn’t think I had it in me.  It’s no Better Homes and Gardens feature, but I smile every time I walk in here.    

What do you think?  Did I do OK for my first redecorating attempt?  What’s in your home that you just love?  Or what’s your pumpkin?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What say you?

