Lavender libation

Somehow I thought it would take longer for my little ones (six and three) to declare summer vacation boredom.  Said boredom is presenting as sibling rivalry and, while I do my best to stay out of their tiffs, sometimes Mom simply must step in.  I’ve learned (the hard way) that it’s best to stay neutral if at all possible, and this year my neutrality looks like this:

Alex:  (WHAM!)  Mooo-ooom, Brynn hit me with her monkey!
Brynn:  No I didn’t! 
Me:  Who wants some lavender lemonade?

I can find a thousand uses for lavender, but this one is my favorite at the moment.  Mainly for the peace it brings my house.  I pour three servings of lemonade (the frozen kind you mix from concentrate) into my glass water goblets (this is key, more later).  I send the offenders to the garden to pick five lavender sprigs each, which we pinch to release the fragrance and then slip them into our glasses. 

The lavender harvesting distracts them from their temporary mutual disdain, and we all sit down to enjoy our drinks.  There’s something about using my fancy (*cough* dollar store) glasses that  “grows them up” a little, and they’re momentarily mature enough to talk quietly about why it’s ineffective to hit each other with monkeys.

Peace is restored. 

As an aside, I’m not crazy about the “from concentrate” stuff.  Once my supply is depleted, I’m going to try this homemade version from Allrecipes.com.  Also, it is my opinion that no household should be without at least one lavender plant.  If you don’t have one, your local nursery can sell you a cell (ha!) for probably less than a dollar.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What say you?

