A Proverb Backfires

timerMy eight year-old son loves his video games – and I love to limit his game time.  He typically gets an hour a day (which I’m convinced is still too much but haven’t the energy for that battle just yet), and when he sits down to play, I set 30 to 60 minutes on the microwave timer.  His choice.

This morning it occurred to me that he’s tall enough to reach the timer himself, and that I could teach him to monitor his own time.  A win-win.  I told him as much, and was met with some resistance.  “Mo-om!  Can’t you just do it for me?”

I smiled and put on my best sage-mom voice (admittedly, it’s not great), and quoted, “If you give a man a fish, he’ll eat for a day.  If you teach him to fish, he’ll eat for a lifetime.”

He stared a me.

My sage-mom voice dissolved and I gestured at the microwave.  “Do you think you understand what that means for us right now?”

He stared.  Then, a mischievous twinkle.  “I do.  It means that if you set the timer for me, I’ll play for 30 minutes, but if I set the timer myself, I’ll play for a lifetime.”

I’ve never seen him quite so amused with himself.

Image courtesy of digitalart at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Tagged: , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “A Proverb Backfires

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster January 3, 2014 at 11:28 am Reply

    Bwahaha! I like his thinking, but most of all the telling of the exchange. :)

    • Julia Weston January 3, 2014 at 11:35 am Reply

      Thanks :) You’d think I’d have learned by now that my sage-mom advice never pans out quite as planned lol!

  2. joeyfullystated January 4, 2014 at 4:20 pm Reply

    HAHA! Clever boy!

  3. sanchitahobby January 16, 2014 at 5:41 am Reply

    You have a very intelligent son who will always keep you on your wits end.

  4. Heather March 19, 2014 at 2:18 pm Reply

    Hi Julia! My name is Heather and I was hoping you would be willing to answer a quick question regarding your blog! Please email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com :-)

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers